• Select a School
  • Language
Admin

Welcome to the Gila Bend Unified School District

Gila Bend Unified School District No 24 is located in Central Arizona amidst the beautiful lands of Maricopa County. Gila Bend Unified School District No. 24 was founded in February 1887. The School District is named after the town of Gila Bend which is located on and named for the bend in the Gila River. The current Gila Bend School building was built in May of 1925 and took on its first student in September of 1925. Today Gila Bend Unified School District continues to serve over 450 students grades K-12.


April 3, 2020

Dear Monster Nation,

The GBUSD teachers are asking for your help. We need to be able to contact all students to ensure they receive every opportunity to demonstrate academic skills with their learning packets, remediation, or credit recovery. You can help us in these ways:

1. Please be sure we have current contact information for you and/or your child. This is to ensure open communication.
2. New learning packets will be available every two weeks in the Library lobby. Teachers are available via school email (listed below) from 7AM to 5PM on Tuesdays through Fridays. If you can access the necessary technology, teachers and students can speak in real time on Zoom, Microsoft Meetings, FaceTime, Skype, or similar platforms.

3. The third quarter report cards will not be sent home as noted on our current school calendar. We will send home a final report card during the week of May 18th. Students that have passed all three quarters will be promoted or graduate. These students can continue to sharpen their academic skills by completing the learning packets bi-weekly. There is no need to return the packets. Students that have not passed all three quarters will not be promoted or graduated unless they complete with proficiency our remediation and/or credit recovery opportunities. Students/parents in this position will be contacted immediately by their teachers to start this process.

4. Promotions and graduation ceremonies will occur when the social distancing restrictions are lifted. Stay tuned.

On a side note, we have fallen behind in our construction schedule to complete the new buildings by July due to the pandemic and recent rains. This means we will start the new school year (2020-2021) in our existing buildings. Please do not let this bother you. When our new Monster Den is ready, we will move in.

Let’s continue to stay calm and student-focused as we go through this transformation.

Don’t forget, teacher emails are listed below. Be safe.

Elementary
Grover Asequia grovera@gbusd.org

Myra Asong myraa@gbusd.org

Jowella Ayuyon jowellaa@gbusd.org

Kendy Cerilo kendyc@gbusd.org

Kimberly Fajardo kimberlyf@gbusd.org

Cheryl Pango cherylf@gbusd.org

Maria Gordo mariag@gbusd.org

Betty Halverson bettyh@gbusd.org

Josie Labuntog josiel@gbusd.org

Dexter Laguda dexterl@gbusd.org

Samantha Liddel samanthal@gbusd.org

Khenn Mosquera khennm@gbusd.org

Lalani Withanage lalanimw@gbusd.org

Jr. High/High School
April Boncalon aprilb@gbusd.org

Mae Cabral         maec@gbusd.org

Corey Drury         coryd@gbusd.org

Steven Ecker stevene@gbusd.org

Paulina Gastelum paulinag@gbusd.org

Criste Guillen cristeg@gbusd.org

Elizabeth Knutson elizabethk@gbusd.org

Jemon Mamar jemonm@gbusd.org

Katherine Nuesca katherinen@gbusd.org

Charles Penafuerte  charlesp@gbusd.org

Jan Timbal Jant@gbusd.org

Bill Turner         billt@gbusd.org

Allen Valencia allenv@gbusd.org

Victoria Young victoriay@gbusd.org



                   
       
Annual Public Notification of Nondiscrimination
                           Please click on the link above for information

 Save the Dates

May 7 - Governing Board Meeting at  5:30 p.m.


We Love Parent Volunteers!!

If you are interested in volunteering please contact the school offices for information.
Elementary- 928-683-2225 ext 123
Middle/High School- 928-683-2225 ext 111


New Prek-12 Campus Coming Summer of 2020

 



Superintendent's Message

Recent News

COVID-19 Newsletter
03/26/2020
Click on the link below to see this Month's March Newsletter by Superintendent Perkins.
Read More about COVID-19 Newsletter
clear
Volunteer Program!
09/28/2015
By all of us working together......
Read More about Volunteer Program!
clear